And the verdict is…

I finally had my first gym session on Wednesday night and I must say that I am really happy and found it much more comfortable than I thought it would.  While I still feel a little bit awkward (because I don’t know how to use half of the equipment), I have gone to 3 sessions now and burned around 600 calories in each which is a fairly good start.  The staff are friendly and I don’t feel like I’m being stared at for being a walrus on an exercise bike so that is a plus.  Those recumbent bikes are strange aren’t they?  I feel like my boobs will overtake my face when I use them, but they are good for notching up the calories!  I must admit that I am actually terrified of the elliptical trainers.  They look like hard work and I haven’t seen anyone above a size 12 actually attempt them yet so I am staying as far away as possible.

I have decided that I will be signing up for a 12 month membership as I find that I can motivate myself much more when I’m at the gym as opposed to at home when the couch is in the next room looking all comfy. 

Image

I did have a let down on Friday night when I drank a few more glasses of wine than I should have and didn’t get home until almost 10 so I got McDonalds on the way.  I tried to make up for it a little by dragging my hungover ass to the gym early on Saturday and burning about 700 calories, which I never would have done even 2 weeks ago.

Tomorrow night I have an appointment with one of the gym instructors to show me how to use the pieces of equipment that I don’t know.  Some of the weights machines look like torture machines and I don’t even know whether I use my arms or legs for half of them and so I have steered clear!  I want to focus more on cardio at the moment anyway, but I also get bored easily and even doing 5-10 mins of weights to break up the cardio will help keep me motivated. 

To prove how much my attitude has changed just in the few weeks that I’ve been doing the warm-up and pre-season of 12wbt, I actually requested planter boxes for xmas so that I can start my own vege & herb gardens.  I generally hate gardening but cannot wait to get these babies started! Also this week we officially started pre-season and I’m finding that I’ve already completed most of the tasks that Mish is requesting so I’m just going to focus on sticking to my meal plans and gym at least 6 days a week.  I want to smash it out and be in the best shape possible before the official start in November.

Well, that is all for the moment.  I hope that everybody is having success (or at least some little wins along the way).  Best of luck.  xoxo

Leave a comment